Skip to main content

Faculty

  • Eric Baković

    Eric Baković

    Professor and Department Chair of Linguistics
    ebakovic@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-1159

    Phonological Theory and Computational Phonology

  •  Leon Bergen

    Leon Bergen

    Assistant Professor of Linguistics
    lbergen@ucsd.edu
    (858) 246-2757

    Pragmatics, Computational Modeling and Experimental Methods

  • Timothy Brady

    Timothy Brady

    Associate Professor of Psychology
    timbrady@ucsd.edu
    (858) 822-453

    Computational Cognitive Science, Bayesian Models of Cognition, Computational Models of Human Memory, Human Visual Perception and Memory

  • Richard Carson

    Richard Carson

    Distinguished Professor of Economics
    rcarson@ucsd.edu
    (858) 822-2262

    Environmental Valuation, Climate Change, Environment and Development, Fisheries

  • Virginia de Sa

    Virginia de Sa

    Professor of Cognitive Science
    desa@ucsd.edu
    (858) 822-5095

    Machine Learning, Computational Neuroscience, Brain-Computer Interfaces

  • Scott Desposato

    Scott Desposato

    Professor of Political Science
    swd@ucsd.edu
    (858) 246-5455

    Comparative Politics (Latin America), Democratic Institutions, Research, Ethics, and Methodology

  • Steven Dow

    Steven Dow

    Associate Professor of Cognitive Science
    spdow@ucsd.edu

    Human-Computer Interaction, Social Computing, Design
  • Graham Elliott

    Graham Elliott

    Professor and Department Chair of Economics 
    grelliott@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-4481

    Econometrics 

  • Judith Fan

    Judith Fan

    Assistant Professor of Psychology
    jefan@ucsd.edu

    Visual Communication, Learning, Cognitive Computational Neuroscience
  • Victor Ferreira

    Victor Ferreira

    Professor of Psychology
    vferreira@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-6303

    Psycholinguistics and Language Production, Computational Modelling 

  • James Fowler

    James Fowler

    Professor of Political Science
    fowler@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-6807

    Social Networks, Evolution, Politics, Genetics, Big Data

  • Patrick Keolu Fox

    Patrick Keolu Fox

    Assistant Professor of Anthropology
    pkfox@ucsd.edu

    Genome Sequencing, Genome Engineering, Computational Biology, Evolutionary Genetics, Paleogenetics, Indigenizing Biomedical Research

  • Erik Gartzke

    Erik Gartzke

    Professor of Political Science
    egartzke@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-8211

    International Security, Security Studies, Peace & Conflict Studies, International Relations Theory, International Politics, Diplomacy, Geopolitics, Economic Development

  • Kelly Gates

    Kelly Gates

    Associate Professor of Communication and Science Studies
    Kagates@ucsd.edu

    Critical Analysis of Digital Media Technologies, Politics and Social Implications of Computerization and the Automation of Surveillance in the United States from the mid-Twentieth Century to Present

  • Stuart Geiger

    Stuart Geiger

    Assistant Professor of Communication and Halicioglu Data Science Institute
    sgeiger@ucsd.edu

    Social, Cultural, and Political Aspects of Data Science, Machine Learning, and AI; Governance and Moderation of Online Platforms; Text Analysis & NLP; Mixed Methods; Community-Centered Design; Digital Ethnography; Auditing of Machine Learning Models

  • Timothy Gentner

    Timothy Gentner

    Professor of Psychology
    tgentner@ucsd.edu
    (858) 822-6763

    Behavioral Neurobiology, Auditory Perception and Cognition, Animal Communication

  • Jade d’Alpoim Guedes

    Jade d’Alpoim Guedes

    Associate Professor of Anthropology
    jguedes@ucsd.edu

    Archaeology, Climate Change, Agriculture, Modeling, Climate Projection

  • Philip Guo

    Philip Guo

    Associate Professor of Cognitive Science
    pjguo@ucsd.edu

    Human-Computer Interaction, Design, Online Learning, Computing Education, Programmer Productivity
  • Seth Hill

    Seth Hill

    Professor of Political Science
    sjhill@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-3341

    American Politics, Campaigns and Elections, Political Methodology, Bayesian Statistics and Computation; Decision Theory

  • Jim Hollan

    Jim Hollan

    Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science
    hollan@ucsd.edu

    Cognitive Ethnography, Distributed and Embodied Cognition, Human-Computer Interaction, Multimodal Interaction
  • Lilly Irani

    Lilly Irani

    Associate Professor of Communication
    lirani@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-3572

    Labor, Surveillance, Ethics, Democratic Shaping of Technology

  •  Terry L. Jernigan

    Terry L. Jernigan

    Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science, Psychiatry, and Radiology
    tjernigan@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-1548

    Human Brain and Behavioral Development, Developmental Population Neuroscience

  • Andrew Kehler

    Andrew Kehler

    Professor of Linguistics
    kehler@ling.ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-6239

    Computational Linguistics, Psycholinguistics, Discourse Interpretation

  • Kevin Lewis

    Kevin Lewis

    Associate Professor of Sociology 
    lewis@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-5423

    Culture, Social Networks, Social Psychology, Inequality, Family

  • Xinwei Ma

    Xinwei Ma

    Assistant Professor of Economics
    x1ma@ucsd.edu 

    Non/Semiparametric econometrics, Causal Inference, Program Evaluation

  • Isaac William Martin

    Isaac William Martin

    Professor, Chair of Urban Studies & Planning 
    iwmartin@ucsd.edu

    Housing Policy, Municipal Taxation, Political Economy of Inequality
  • Marcelo Mattar

    Marcelo Mattar

    Assistant Professor of Cognitive Science 
    mmattar@ucsd.edu

    Reinforcement Learning, Planning, Memory, Network Neuroscience, Computational Neuroscience, Probabilistic Inference

  • Eran Mukamel

    Eran Mukamel

    Associate Professor of Cognitive Science
    emukamel@ucsd.edu
    (858) 822-3713

    Neuroscience, Genomics, Bioinformatics

  • Douglas Nitz

    Douglas Nitz

    Professor and Chair of Cognitive Science 
    nitz@cogsci.ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-1132

    Neural Basis of Spatial Cognition and Episodic Memory, Hippocampus, Parietal Cortex, Premotor Cortex

  • Juan Pablo Pardo-Guerra

    Juan Pablo Pardo-Guerra

    Associate Professor of Sociology
    jpardoguerra@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-5641

    Economic Sociology, Sociology of Markets, Science and Technology Studies, Cultural Sociology, Financial Markets, Art Markets, Public Valuations, Innovation

  • Margaret (Molly) Roberts

    Margaret (Molly) Roberts

    Associate Professor of Political Science
    meroberts@ucsd.edu

    Political Science, Statistics, Comparative Politics, Political Methodology

  • Akos Rona-Tas

    Akos Rona-Tas

    Professor of Sociology
    aronatas@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-4699

    Predictions, Time, Uncertainty

  • John Serences

    John Serences

    Professor of Psychology
    jserences@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-3686

    Attention and Perceptual Decision Making

  • Beth Simon

    Beth Simon

    Associate Teaching Professor of Education Studies
    bsimon@ucsd.edu
    (858) 246-2592

    Computing Education, Active Learning, Online Education, Technology-Enhanced Education, Peer Instruction

  • Kaare Strom

    Kaare Strom

    Distinguished Professor of Political Science
    kstrom@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-0793

    Comparative Politics, National Legislatures, Legislator Careers, Coalition Bargaining
  • Will Styler

    Will Styler

    Assistant Teaching Professor of Linguistics
    wstyler@ucsd.edu
    Computational Linguistics, Acoustic Phonetics, Speech Perception
  • Yixiao Sun

    Yixiao Sun

    Professor of Economics
    yisun@ucsd.edu 
    (858) 534-4692

    Time Series Econometrics, Nonparametric Econometrics, Causal Inference and Machine Learning 

  •  Alexis Akira Toda

    Alexis Akira Toda

    Associate Professor of Economics
    atoda@ucsd.edu 
    (858) 534-3383

    Computational Economics, Discretization, Interpolation
  • Bradley Voytek

    Bradley Voytek

    Professor of Cognitive Science 
    bvoytek@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-0002

    Cognitive Neuroscience, Computational Neuroscience, Data Science 

  • Ed Vul

    Ed Vul

    Associate Professor of Psychology
    evul@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-4401

    Probabilistic Inference Under Cognitive Limitations

  • Drew E. Walker

    Drew E. Walker

    Assistant Teaching Professor of Cognitive Science 
    dehoffma@ucsd.edu

    Social Cognition; Teaching and Learning

  • David Wiens

    David Wiens

    Associate Professor of Political Science, Faculty Affiliate, Department of Philosophy, Fellow for the Center on Global Justice
    dwiens@ucsd.edu

    Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Social Science, Formal Political Theory
  • John Wixted

    John Wixted

    Distinguished Professor of Psychology
    jwixted@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-3956

    Human Memory, Animal Cognition, Psychopathology

  • Kaspar Wuthrich

    Kaspar Wuthrich

    Assistant Professor of Economics  
    kwuthrich@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-3383

    Quantile Methods, Synthetic and Sounterfactual Controls, High-Dimensional Prediction and Inference, Inference in Experiments, Detecting P-Hacking

  • Haijun Xia

    Haijun Xia

    Assistant Professor of Cognitive Science 
    haijunxia@ucsd.edu

    Human-Computer Interaction, Creativity Support Tools, Augmented/Mixed/Virtual Reality, Multimodal Interaction, Information/Data Visualization

  • Angela Yu

    Angela Yu

    Associate Professor of Cognitive Science
    ajyu@ucsd.edu
    (858) 822-3317

    Decision Making, Learning, Social Perception, Social Cognition, Face Processing, Attention, Bayesian Modeling, Reinforcement Learning, Machine Learning/AI, Control Theory

  • Ying Zhu

    Ying Zhu

    Assistant Professor of Economics
    yiz012@ucsd.edu

    High-Dimensional Estimation and Inference, Nonasymptotic Statistics, Semiparametric and Nonparametric Methods, Panel/Longitudinal Data Analysis (with Both i.i.d. and Temporal Features), Integration of Economic Models and Machine Learning, Causal Inference, Bayesian Methods