Skip to main content

Core Faculty 

    • Umberto Mignozzettiumignozzetti_psci.png
      Assistant Teaching Professor of Computational Social Science and Political Science
      umbertomig@ucsd.edu
      Comparative Political Economy, Experimental Political Science, Formal Modeling, Political Methodology, Welfare
    • wstyler_ling.png

      Will Styler
      Program Director, Computational Social Science & Assistant Teaching Professor of Linguistics

      wstyler@ucsd.edu
      Computational Linguistics, Acoustic Phonetics, Speech Perception

    • strott_cogsci.png

      Sean Trott
      Assistant Teaching Professor of Computational Social Science and Cognitive Science
      sttrott@ucsd.edu
      Ambiguity, Pragmatic Inference, Computational Linguistics, Language Evolution

Affiliated Faculty

Anthropology

  • Jade d’Alpoim Guedes

    Jade d’Alpoim Guedes

    Associate Professor of Anthropology
    jguedes@ucsd.edu
    Archaeology, Climate Change, Archaeobotany, Earth and Planetary Science, Agriculture
  • Patrick Keolu Fox

    Patrick Keolu Fox

    Assistant Professor of Anthropology
    pkfox@ucsd.edu
    Genome Sequencing, Genome Engineering, Computational Biology, Evolutionary Genetics, Paleogenetics, Indigenizing Biomedical Research

Cognitive Science

  • Ben Bergen

    Ben Bergen

    Professor of Cognitive Science
    bkbergen@ucsd.edu
    Psycholinguistics, Natural Language Understanding, Computational Linguistics, Neural Language Models
  • Steven Dow

    Steven Dow

    Associate Professor of Cognitive Science
    spdow@ucsd.edu
    Human-Computer Interaction, Social Computing, Design
  • Jason Fleischer

    Jason Fleischer

    LPSOE
    jfleischer@ucsd.edu
    Machine Learning, Time-restricted Eating, Biological Age Prediction, Computational Neuroscience, Racial Disparities in Policing and Justice System
  • Philip Guo

    Philip Guo

    Associate Professor of Cognitive Science
    pjguo@ucsd.edu
    Human-Computer Interaction, Design, Online Learning, Computing Education, Programmer Productivity
  • Jim Hollan

    Jim Hollan

    Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science
    hollan@ucsd.edu
    Cognitive Ethnography, Distributed and Embodied Cognition, Human-Computer Interaction, Multimodal Interaction
  • Terry L. Jernigan

    Terry L. Jernigan

    Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science, Psychiatry, and Radiology
    tjernigan@ucsd.edu
    Human Brain and Behavioral Development, Developmental Population Neuroscience
  • Marcelo Mattar

    Marcelo Mattar

    Assistant Professor of Cognitive Science 
    mmattar@ucsd.edu
    Reinforcement Learning, Planning, Memory, Network Neuroscience, Computational Neuroscience, Probabilistic Inference
  • Eran Mukamel

    Eran Mukamel

    Associate Professor of Cognitive Science
    emukamel@ucsd.edu
    Neuroscience, Genomics, Bioinformatics
  • Douglas Nitz

    Douglas Nitz

    Professor and Chair of Cognitive Science 
    nitz@cogsci.ucsd.edu
    Neural Basis of Spatial Cognition and Episodic Memory, Hippocampus, Parietal Cortex, Premotor Cortex
  • Virginia de Sa

    Virginia de Sa

    Professor of Cognitive Science
    desa@ucsd.edu
    Machine Learning, Computational Neuroscience, Brain-Computer Interfaces

  • Sean Trott

    Sean Trott

    Assistant Teaching Professor of Computational Social Science and Cognitive Science
    sttrott@ucsd.edu
    Computational Linguistics, Human Language, Neural Language Models
  • Bradley Voytek

    Bradley Voytek

    Professor of Cognitive Science 
    bvoytek@ucsd.edu
    Cognitive Neuroscience, Computational Neuroscience, Data Science
  • Drew E. Walker

    Drew E. Walker

    Assistant Teaching Professor of Cognitive Science 
    dehoffma@ucsd.edu
    Social Cognition; Teaching and Learning
  • Haijun Xia

    Haijun Xia

    Assistant Professor of Cognitive Science 
    haijunxia@ucsd.edu
    Human-Computer Interaction, Creativity Support Tools, Augmented/Mixed/Virtual Reality, Multimodal Interaction, Information/Data Visualization
  • Angela Yu

    Angela Yu

    Associate Professor of Cognitive Science
    ajyu@ucsd.edu
    Decision Making, Learning, Social Perception, Social Cognition, Face Processing, Attention, Bayesian Modeling, Reinforcement Learning, Machine Learning/AI, Control Theory

Communication

  • Kelly Gates

    Kelly Gates

    Associate Professor of Communication and Science Studies
    Kagates@ucsd.edu
    Critical Analysis of Digital Media Technologies, Politics and Social Implications of Computerization and the Automation of Surveillance in the United States from the mid-Twentieth Century to Present
  • Stuart Geiger

    Stuart Geiger

    Assistant Professor of Communication and Halicioglu Data Science Institute
    sgeiger@ucsd.edu
    Social, Cultural, and Political Aspects of Data Science, Machine Learning, and AI; Governance and Moderation of Online Platforms; Text Analysis & NLP; Mixed Methods; Community-Centered Design; Digital Ethnography; Auditing of Machine Learning Models
  • Lilly Irani

    Lilly Irani

    Associate Professor of Communication
    lirani@ucsd.edu
    (858) 534-3572
    Labor, Surveillance, Ethics, Democratic Shaping of Technology

Economics

  • Alexis Akira Toda

    Alexis Akira Toda

    Associate Professor of Economics
    atoda@ucsd.edu
    Computational Economics, Discretization, Interpolation
  • David Arnold

    David Arnold

    Assistant Teaching Professor
    daarnold@ucsd.edu
    Labor Economics, Discrimination, Algorithmic Fairness
  • Richard Carson

    Richard Carson

    Distinguished Professor of Economics
    rcarson@ucsd.edu
    Environmental Valuation, Climate Change, Environment and Development, Fisheries
  • Fabian Eckert

    Fabian Eckert

    Assistant Professor of Economics
    fpe@ucsd.edu
    Inequality, Cities, Data
  • Graham Elliot

    Graham Elliot

    Professor of Economics 
    grelliott@ucsd.edu
    Econometrics 
  • Aram Grigoryan

    Aram Grigoryan

    Assistant Teaching Professor
    a2grigoryan@ucsd.edu
    Market Design, Matching Theory, Game Theory, Economics and Computation
  • Nir Jaimovich

    Nir Jaimovich

    Anonymous Family Chancellor Endowed Chair in Macroeconomics, Professor 
    nijaimovich@ucsd.edu
    Applied Macroeconomics, Business Cycles, Labor Market
  • Xinwei Ma

    Xinwei Ma

    Assistant Professor of Economics
    x1ma@ucsd.edu
    Non/Semiparametric econometrics, Causal Inference, Program Evaluation
  • Yixiao Sun

    Yixiao Sun

    Professor of Economics
    yisun@ucsd.edu
    Time Series Econometrics, Nonparametric Econometrics, Causal Inference and Machine Learning
  • Kaspar Wuthrich

    Kaspar Wuthrich

    Assistant Professor of Economics  
    kwuthrich@ucsd.edu
    Quantile Methods, Synthetic and Counterfactual Controls, High-Dimensional Prediction and Inference, Inference in Experiments, Detecting P-Hacking
  • Ying Zhu

    Ying Zhu

    Assistant Professor of Economics
    yiz012@ucsd.edu
    High-Dimensional Estimation and Inference, Nonasymptotic Statistics, Semiparametric and Nonparametric Methods, Panel/Longitudinal Data Analysis (with Both i.i.d. and Temporal Features), Integration of Economic Models and Machine Learning, Causal Inference, Bayesian Methods 

Education Studies

  • Christoforos Mamas

    Christoforos Mamas

    Assistant Professor
    cmamas@ucsd.edu
    Social Network Analysis, Special Education, Relational Inclusion, Inclusive Education, Social Participation
  • Beth Simon

    Beth Simon

    Teaching Professor of Education Studies
    bsimon@ucsd.edu
    Computing Education, Active Learning, Online Education, Technology-Enhanced Education, Peer Instruction

Linguistics

Political Science

  • Scott Desposato

    Scott Desposato

    Professor of Political Science
    swd@ucsd.edu
    Comparative Politics (Latin America), Democratic Institutions, Research, Ethics, and Methodology
  • James Fowler

    James Fowler

    Professor of Political Science
    jhfowler@ucsd.edu
    Social Networks, Evolution, Politics, Genetics, Big Data
  • Erik Gartzke

    Erik Gartzke

    Professor of Political Science
    egartzke@ucsd.edu
    International Security, Security Studies, Peace & Conflict Studies, International Relations Theory, International Politics, Diplomacy, Geopolitics, Economic Development
  • Seth Hill

    Seth Hill

    Professor of Political Science
    sjhill@ucsd.edu
    American Politics, Campaigns and Elections, Political Methodology, Bayesian Statistics and Computation; Decision Theory
  • Umberto Mignozzetti

    Umberto Mignozzetti

    Assistant Teaching Professor of Computational Social Science and Political Science
    umbertomig@ucsd.edu
    Comparative Politics, Political Economy Tools, Formal Modeling, Elite and Popular Surveys
  • Margaret (Molly) Roberts

    Margaret (Molly) Roberts

    Associate Professor of Political Science
    meroberts@ucsd.edu
    Political Science, Statistics, Comparative Politics, Political Methodology
  • Kaare Strom

    Kaare Strom

    Distinguished Professor of Political Science
    kstrom@ucsd.edu
    Comparative Politics, National Legislatures, Legislator Careers, Coalition Bargaining
  • David Wiens

    David Wiens

    Associate Professor of Political Science, Faculty Affiliate, Department of Philosophy, Fellow for the Center on Global Justice
    dwiens@ucsd.edu  
    Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Social Science, Formal Political Theory

Psychology

Sociology

Urban Studies and Planning